APGA stakeholders to elect Anambra LG Chairmen, Education Secretaries


By Our correspondent

Stakeholders of the All Progressives Grand Alliance ( APGA) at the 21 Local Government Areas of the state will nominate the next Transition Committee Chairmen and Education Secretaries in their LGAs.

This was contained in a memo obtained by our correspondent which was signed by the Political Adviser to the Governor,
Dr Alex Obiogbolu .

According to the memo, the APGA stakeholders would meet on May18th and 19th,2025 to elect the respective personnel, which would be subject to governor’s ratification.

The Memo reads:


1 Mr Governor, Prof. Charles Chukwuma Soludo CFR has directed that the party stakeholders in each Local Government (LG) meet on May 18th or 19th 2024, to consider and recommend for his consideration, three persons for the position of TC Chairman and three persons for LG Education Secretaries. (The composition of the stakeholders committee in each LG is stated below in the ANNEX).

2 The three recommendations for TC chairman shall include at least one woman; while the three recommendations for Education Secretary shall be two women and one man.

3. Persons for the TC Chairman must be persons of good standing, and with demonstrable competence and passion to contribute to the transformation of the LG. Persons for the position of Education Secretary shall have requisite qualifications and a minimum administrative experience of managing a school as a primary school Head Teacher or Principal of a secondary school or other cognate management experience in the education sector. He or she must be a person adjudged to have the capacity and passion to lead the educational reforms.

4) The recommendations, which shall be signed by the LG party chairman, serving elected member of parliament, and commissioner from the LG (together with the CVs of recommended persons) shall reach the office of the Governor not later than 21st May, 2024.

The Governor will subsequently interview the three recommendations and appoint one of them; except where the Governor is not satisfied with any of the recommendations, he may appoint anyone else to the position.

5) The LG party chairmen shall give sufficient notice by widely circulating the invitation to the relevant stakeholders immediately (not later than Sunday 12th May) stating date, venue and time of the meeting. The LG party chairman or anyone he designates, shall chair the meeting. The list of invited stakeholders for each LG shall be submitted to the Political Adviser to the Governor before 15th May.

Dr Alex Obiogbolu
Political Adviser to the Governor

Composition of the LG party stakeholders Committee Meeting

1. Current and Former Governors/Deputy Governors from the local government who are still members of the party.

2. Current and former National officers of APGA who are still members of the party from the LGA

3. Current and former commissioners who are still members of the party from the LGA.

4. Current and former National Assembly and State Assembly members from the LGA who are still members of the party.

5. APGA BOT members from the LGA.

6. Current and former SSG, HOS, Special Advisers, State Chief of Protocol, MD/CEOs, Chiefs of Staff, Principal Secretaries, Accountant-General, who are still members of the party.

7. Current and former state officers of APGA who are still members of the party.

8. Businessmen/Statesmen who fund/support APGA in the LGA not exceeding one person from each ward.

9. Current and former LG Chairmen/TC Chairmen who are still members of the party.

10. Current councilors in the LG who are members of the party.


11. Traditional rulers and clergy who support APGA openly and are from the LGA.


12. Former LG party chairmen and other LG party officers who are still members of the party.

13. Unsuccessful APGA candidates in the last general election who are still members of APGA.

14. Unsuccessful APGA aspirants during the last 2022 National and State Assembly primaries and 2021 Governorship primaries who are still members of APGA.

15. Other political appointees of government— including Executive Chairmen/members of Boards/Commissions; SSAs, heads of COOU, polytechnic Mgbakwu, College of education Nsugbe, health technology Obosi, CMD Amaku, Permanent secretaries, etc

16. LG/ State ASATU officers who are members of APGA from the LG

17. National/State/LG officers of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide who are members of the party

18. LG Coordinator for the “All Soludo Support Group”— ASSG)— that is, one representative of ALL the support groups.

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: