Protests trail Soludo’s appointment of LGA TC Chairmen, residents decry antidemocratic move


By Our reporter

A wave of protest has swept across Anambra State following the appointment of Local Government Transition Committee (TC) Chairmen by Governor Prof. Chukwuma Soludo.

The move has been widely criticized by residents who feel betrayed by the governor’s decision, which they claimed was a departure from his earlier promise to conduct local government elections within his first two years in office.

In various parts of the state, residents who spoke to our reporters expressed their disappointment and anger over the appointment.

Many had expected the governor to fulfill his campaign promise and conduct elections, which they believe would have been a more democratic approach.

Chief George Okoye, a stakeholder in Njikoka Local Government Area, described the governor’s action as “impunity.”

Okoye’s sentiments were echoed by others who felt the appointment of TC Chairmen was a clear departure from democratic principles.

Residents who spoke to our reporters accused the governor of exhibiting antidemocratic tendencies, which they feared might become a hallmark of his administration.

They argued that the appointment of TC Chairmen undermined the democratic process and denied the people of Anambra State their right to elect their local government leaders.

Okoye said, “Governor Soludo’s appointment of TC Chairmen is a betrayal of his campaign promise to conduct local government elections. Many residents who voted for him feel let down by this decision, which they believe is a clear departure from his earlier commitment.

“We demand an explanation from the governor for this decision to appoint TC Chairmen instead of conducting elections. We want to know why he has departed from his earlier promise and what informed his decision.

“We are calling on all stakeholders to join in this protest in the quest for democratic governance at the local government level,” Okoye stated.

Soludo had on Wednesday June 19 sent the names of 21 Local Government Transition Committee (TC) Chairmen to Anambra Assembly For Consideration.


The Names of the Nominated
TC Chairman are as follows:

Dr. Chibuike Ofobuike (Aguata)

Sir Ifeanyi Chiweze (Anambra East)

Mr. Fidelis Nnazor (Anambra West)

Mr.Romanus Chukwuma Ibekwe (Anaocha)

Mr.ThankGod Chibuike Anagor (Awka North)

Mr. Chinedu Okafor (Awka South)

Mr. Alphonsus Ofumele (Ayamelum)

Barr. Chijoke Clement Ozumba (Dunukofia)

Mr. James Chimezie Obi (Ekwusigo)

Mr. Stanley Nkwoka (Idemili North).

Mrs. Amaka Obi (Idemili South)

Engr Anayo Ojiako (Ihiala)

Barr. Chinedu Dominic Ononiba (Njikoka)

Engr Chris Obiora (Nnewi North)

Mr. Val George Chinedu Ezeogidi (Nnewi South)

Mr Franklin Nwadialu(Ogbaru)

Mr. Anthony Nwaora (Onitsha North)

Mr. Joseph Emeka Orji(Onitsha South)

Barr. Casimir Nwafor (Orumba North)

Mr. Shedrack Azubuike(Orumba South

Mr.Emma Nweke (Oyi)

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: