Umeh, others to receive certificates of return Tuesday/Wednesday


Tony Okafor(with agency reports)

Anambra State Senators-elect will join their counterparts across the country to receive their certificates of return on Tuesday in Abuja.

The Senators-elect are: Chief Victor Umeh ( Labour Party, LP), Anambra Central Senatorial District; Dr Tony Nwoye(LP), Anambra North Senatorial District; Chief Ifeanyi Ubah ( YYP), Anambra Southern Senatorial District.
The House of Representatives members-elect from the state will receive theirs on Wednesday in Abuja.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, stated this on Saturday while giving his address at a meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) in Abuja.

Yakubu said winners were declared for 423 legislative seats, indicating that supplementary elections would be conducted in 46 other constituencies.

The elected legislators include 98 out of 109 Senate, and 325 out of 360 House of Representatives seats. Seven parties won in the Senate, while eight parties won House of Representatives seats.

“Certificates of Return will be presented to Senators-elect on Tuesday 7th March 2023 at 11.00am at the National Collation Centre (the International Conference Centre), Abuja, while Members of the House of Representatives-elect will receive theirs the following day, Wednesday 8th March 2023, at 11.00am at the same venue,” he said.

“However, for effective crowd management, each Senator/Member-elect should be accompanied by a maximum of two guests. The comprehensive list of all members-elect will be uploaded to the Commission’s website shortly.”

According to him, in terms of party representation, the 2023 set is the most diverse National Assembly since 1999.

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: