Campus BuzzEducation

Unizik VC inaugurates Board of Directors of Centre for Agripreneur and Cooperative Research/Practice


By Gabriel Chy Alonta

The Vice-Chancellor of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Prof. Charles Okechukwu Esimone, FAS, has inaugurated the Management and Board of Directors of the Centre for Agripreneur and Cooperative Research/Practice (CACORP) at the Valedictory Faculty Board meeting of Management Sciences on Tuesday, May 14, 2024.

During the inauguration, Prof. Esimone urged the board to promptly commence their assigned duties and assured them of unwavering support from the university’s management.

In response, the Chairman of the Board and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Prof. Joseph Ikechebelu, expressed commitment to executing their responsibilities efficiently. He commended the committee members for their resourcefulness and called on them to exceed expectations.

Dr. Nma Okechukwu Okoroji, the Director of CACORP and a committee member, highlighted the importance of partnerships, alliances, and synergies to harness the full potential of agriculture for economic growth, social inclusion, and environmental stewardship. She emphasized the community-building aspect of CACORP, envisioning it as a hub for visionaries, innovators, and changemakers dedicated to revolutionizing the agricultural landscape.

She further appreciated the Dean of the Faculty of Management, Prof. Pius Okoye, for his visionary leadership, which spearheaded the establishment of the Centre and the advancement of agricultural entrepreneurship and cooperative research.

Prof. Okoye, speaking on the sidelines of the event, commended the Vice-Chancellor for his unwavering support to the Centre. He expressed optimism that the esteemed members of the committee would enhance the activities of the Centre, contributing to its growth and impact.

The newly inaugurated board includes esteemed members such as Prof. Pius Okoye, Dean of the Faculty of Management Sciences; Prof. Cordelia Ebenebe, Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture; Dr. Nkechi Ojiagu, Head of Cooperative Economics and Management; Dr. Nkiru Nwakobi, Head of the Department of Entrepreneurship; Dr. Nneka Angela Okoli, Head of Crop Science and Horticulture; Prof. Frank Nwankwo; Prof. Ezimma Nnabuife; and Mrs. Nkiru Nnoyelu, Member/Secretary.

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: