2023: Queen-Elizabeth is Anambra new REC


Our correspondent

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has inaugurated and deployed 19 new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) ahead of the 2023 general elections.

In Anambra State Queen-Elizabeth Agwu is new Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state . She hails from Ebonyi State.

The newly deployed RECs were appointed in July by President Mohammadu Buhari and were all screened and confirmed in October by the Nigeria Senate.


While swearing in the new RECs, the Chairman of the Commission, Prof, Mahmood Yakubu urged them to serve in line with INEC rules of engagement as an impartial electoral empire that is fair to all irrespective of political circumstances in their various states of deployment.


Prof. Yakubu warned the new RECs to desist from any unofficial engagements or fraternization with politicians, even in their private times.


Part of the INEC Chairman’s charge to the new RECs reads:

“Over the years, the Commission has worked tirelessly to reform the electoral process and introduce many innovations that are generally acknowledged to have improved the electoral process.”

“In doing so, we will continue to acknowledge the sacrifice and dedication of our hardworking staff. As you are deployed to the states of the federation, you will be responsible for human and material resources. Work with the staff and be guided by the provisions of the law and our various regulations and guidelines.

“Furthermore, you will also interact with various stakeholders. You should maintain the established practice of consultation with them. However, in dealing with the general public, you should be guided by the provisions of the commission’s Code of Conduct. You should not be visitors to Government Houses and must never hold unofficial meetings with politicians, even after official working hours. All matters pertaining to official responsibilities should be conducted as provided by law”

The new RECs and their new states of assignment are as follows:


1. Uzochukwu Chijioke (Anambra), posted to Abia,

2. Nura Yunusa (Bauchi), posted to Adamawa.

3. Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto), posted to Jigawa

4. Queen-Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi), posted to Anambra

5. Sylvia Agu (Enugu) , posted to Imo

6. Pauline Onyeka (Imo), posted to Ebonyi

7. Yomere Oritsemolebi (Delta), posted to Cross River

8. Yahaya Ibrahim (Kaduna), posted to Katsina

9. Nura Ali (Kano), posted to Sokoto

10. Ahmed Garki (FCT), posted to Niger

11. Ayobami Salami (Oyo), posted to Ekiti.

12. Zango Abdu (Katsina), posted Kano

13. Agundu Tersoo (Benue), posted to Plateau

14. Obo Effanga (Cross River), posted to Edo

15. Agboke Olaleke (Ogun), posted Osun

16. Samuel Egwu (Kogi), posted to Benue

17. Umar Ibrahim (Taraba), posted Gombe

18. Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa), posted to Yobe

19. Mohammed Nura (Yobe), posted to Bauchi

Meanwhile, the following reappointed RECs are also posted as follows:

Adediran Tella, Johnson Sinikiem, Chukwuemeka Chukwu and Mahmuda Isah have been deployed to Oyo, Rivers, Enugu and Kaduna respectively.

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: