Obiano sacks 5, swears in new commissioners

Gov. Willie Obiano of Anambra on Monday appointed five new commissioners to assist in steering the affairs of the state.

Those appointed are Mr Okey Moka (Finance), Mrs Gladys Ilobi (Special Duties), Mr Afam Mbanefo (Agriculture), Mr Frank Offor (Housing and Urban Development) and Dr Uju Nwogu (Information, Culture and Tourism).

Speaking after the swearing-in ceremony in Awka, the governor congratulated them, saying that they should see their appointments as a privilege.

“Serving under this administration is an honour for yourselves and we look up to you to assist in moving the state forward.

“What you have just signed is your job specifications with timeframe for performance monitoring which is usually every100 days.

“So you will only stay as part of the team if you are found worthy,” Obiano said.

Administering the oath, the Director of Civil Litigation, Mr Emeka Ike, explained that the appointment was in accordance with the provision of Sections 190 and 194 of the Constitution of Nigeria.

Responding on behalf of the commissioners, Nwogu expressed gratitude to the governor for finding them worthy to serve the state, promising to maintain the tempo of development.

She pledged their dedication in ensuring the success of the Obiano’s four pillars of development in the state.

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: