IPAC Absolves Obiano of N20m Bribery Scandal

The Inter Party Advisory Council (IPAC), Anambra State chapter has absolved Anambra State governor, Chief Willie Obiano of complicity in a N20million bribery scandal.

The election of the group which was scheduled to hold last week had been off as a result of alleged attempt by Chief Obiano to hijack the process to favour the state chairman of his party, APGA, Sir Nobert Obi.
 Anambra last week agog with rumours of the bribery of key officer of the IPAC, with a mandate to return the APGA chairman as the leader of the group in the state.
Recall that IPAC leadership had been a subject of tussle, with the state chairman of APGA and Labour Party, Sir Obi and Chief Oraegbunam respectively, laying claim to it.
But briefing journalists after a crucial meeting of the group yesterday in Awka, the chairman of PDP in the state, Prince Ken Emeakayi announced to journalists that the governor never made any attempt, let alone bribe its members with the sum of N20million to return Obi as chairman.
Emeakayi told journalists that following the rescheduling of the election of the council in Anambra, the group had set up a 7-man interim committe to harmonize the body which had been factionalized.
Emeakayi said the leadership of 28 out of 31 registered political parties in Anambra held a crucial meeting and decided to close ranks and shun all forms of bickering as a way to move the council forward.
He said the interim committee would serve for three months in the first instance and pointed out that the decision and date for electing substantial IPAC officers in Anambra would be subject to directives of the national body.
“You are aware that after the 2015 general elections that IPAC ran into crisis which gave rise to factionalization and that affected the states, including Anambra.
“But after a general assembly of IPAC, we unanimously resolved that the election of our executives be suspended, that a 7-man interim management committee be constituted.
“This committee which is headed by Chief Norbert Obi (APGA),  Mrs Oby Okafor (ACD), Akudo Chikwendu (CPP), Mr peter Okpala (NCP), Mr Batho Igwedibia (Accord Party), Chief Sam Oraegbunam (HDP) and Mr Nelson Ihenetoha (PDM).” Emeakayi said.

By Ifeizu Joe

Ifeizu is a seasoned journalist and Managing Editor of TheRazor. He has wide knowledge of Anambra State and has reported the state objectively for over a decade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: